Top Iowa Republicans Join Christie's Leadership Team

Christie logo
October 01, 2015

For Immediate Release:                                                
Thursday, October 1, 2015

MORRISTOWN, NJ - Today, top Iowa Republicans announced they are joining Christie's leadership team. The team is made up of influential business and community leaders from across the state. These leaders have deep roots in Iowa politics and will be instrumental in communicating Christie's proven record and bold ideas to Iowans in every county.

State Chairman Kraig Paulsen, Speaker of the Iowa House of Representatives, stated, "I am excited to be a part of this great team of Iowa leaders supporting Governor Chris Christie. The Governor's record of conservative reforms in one of the bluest states in the nation is unique and impressive. He has cut taxes, cut spending, shrunk government and returned fiscal sanity to the New Jersey budget. Governor Christie's political courage and strong leadership skills are needed in Washington, and I firmly believe that he is the candidate to lead our party in 2016 and beyond."

"I'm proud to be a part of Governor Christie's leadership team here in Iowa, along with so many other great Republicans. Governor Christie's strong conservative record, substantive plans for the future of our nation, and honest and direct style is exactly what our country needs in a leader. In Iowa, we're blessed with strong executive leadership, and Governor Christie will bring that same kind of experience to Washington DC on day one," said Adrianne Branstad 

Iowa Leadership Team 

  • State Chairman Kraig Paulsen (Hiawatha, IA) - Speaker of the Iowa House of Representatives
  • Adrianne Branstad (Des Moines, IA) - Polk County GOP Leader
  • Jeff Boeyink (Ankeny, IA) - Former Branstad Chief of Staff, 2010 Branstad-Reynolds Campaign Manager
  • Jean Davidsaver (Bellevue, IA) - Former Jackson County GOP Chair
  • Mikel Derby (West Des Moines, IA) - Branstad-Reynolds 2010 campaign, Polk County Republican Leader
  • David Drescher (West Des Moines, IA) - Business Leader 
  • Denny Elwell (West Des Moines, IA) - Business, philanthropic, and community leader, as well as Chairman of Denny Elwell Company, LC
  • Patrick Finnegan (Des Moines, IA) - Former University of Northern Iowa College Republican Chair, Romney Caucus campaign leader, Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair
  • Dr. Tom Gleason (Boone, IA) - Branstad-Reynolds County Chair, Branstad-Reynolds Honorary Colonel
  • Martha Gleason (Boone, IA)
  • Gary Grant (Cedar Rapids, IA) - Former District Director for Congressman Jim Leach, Linn County GOP Leader
  • Betty Gustafson (Cumming, IA) - Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair, Madison County GOP Leader
  • Nigel Hanson (Ames, IA) - Iowa State University College Republican Chairman
  • John Harris (Cedar Rapids, IA) - Linn County Supervisor
  • Brian Harrison (Waukee, IA) - Waukee City Councilman
  • Mark Hudson (Marion, IA) - Former Linn County GOP Chairman, Romney-Ryan legal team, Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair
  • Shelly Hughes (Waukee, IA) - Waukee City Councilwoman
  • Stewart Iverson (Clarion, IA) - Former Senate Majority Leader
  • Jim Kersten (Fort Dodge, IA) - Former State Senator, former Branstad staff
  • Gary Kirke (West Des Moines, IA) - Business, philanthropic, and community leader, Chairman, Wild Rose Casino and Resort, Founder of Kirke Financial Services
  • Shelley Laracuente (Ankeny, IA) - Business leader, Polk County GOP leader, Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair, Branstad-Reynolds 2015 Inaugural Honorary Colonel
  • Norlin Mommsen (DeWitt, IA) - State Representative
  • Katie Popkes (Rock Rapids, IA) - Branstad-Reynolds 2015 Inaugural Committee, Iowa State University College Republicans
  • Heather Quist (Dubuque, IA) - Former Republican Party of Iowa Field Director, Romney 2011 Caucus campaign leader, Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair
  • Bruce Rastetter (Hubbard, IA) - Business, philanthropic, and community leader. CEO, The Summit Group
  • Mike Richards (West Des Moines, IA) Business, philanthropic, and community leader, Vice chairman of the board of directors of Wild Rose Casino & Resort
  • Daniel Seufferlein (Cedar Rapids, IA) - Romney-Ryan legal team, Linn County Republican leader, Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair
  • Allan Thoms (Cedar Rapids, IA) - Former Mayor of Dubuque, former Branstad Chief of Staff, former Chairman of the Iowa Utilities Board, former Commissioner of the Iowa Department of Transportation, former Cedar Rapids City Manager, former Director of the Iowa Department of Economic Development
  • Jim Van Fossen (Davenport, IA) - Former State Representative
  • Lisa Wagner (Spirit Lake, IA) - Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair
  • Mary Whisenand (Des Moines, IA) - Polk County GOP leader, Branstad-Reynolds 2014 County Chair, Branstad-Reynolds 2015 Inaugural Committee